Update browser for a secure Made experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Made experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Saratoga Springs, NY

Enchanting Winds

Sun, July 21, 2024, 3:00 pm

Spa Little Theatre, Saratoga Performing Arts Center

Two hours, including intermission

Buy Tickets Buy Subscription

CMS is more than proud to have helped little-known yet deserving works enter the standard chamber repertoire. These performances of Bloch’s and Suk’s quintets will astound, as they have worldwide, in the hands of CMS musicians.


Gioachino Rossini


Quartet No. 4 for Flute, Clarinet, Horn and Bassoon in B-flat major

Camille Saint-Saëns


Sonata for Oboe and Piano, Op. 166

Quick Note

Quick Note

This sonata was one of the last chamber works written by Saint-Saëns, dedicated to the memory of his friend and fellow composer, Henri Woollett.

Listen for the seamless interaction between the oboe and piano, as Saint-Saëns explores a wide range of emotions and textures.

Paul Taffanel


Quintet in G minor for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn

Quick Note

Quick Note

Taffanel's quintet is a quintessential example of the late 19th-century French chamber music style, known for its lyricism, clarity, and elegance.

Listen for the intricate interplay between the flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and horn, as Taffanel skillfully explores the unique timbres of each instrument, creating a rich tapestry of sound that highlights the ensemble's virtuosity and expressive capabilities.

Francis Poulenc


Sonata for Flute and Piano

Quick Note

Quick Note

This sonata stands out in the chamber music repertoire for its fusion of neoclassical elements with jazz influences, offering a unique and vibrant listening experience.

Listen for Poulenc's characteristic juxtaposition of playful melodies and poignant moments, as well as his exploration of the flute's agility and expressive capabilities.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart


Quintet in E-flat major for Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, and Piano, K. 452

Quick Note

Quick Note

Mozart's quintet is one of the earliest works to feature this particular combination of instruments.

Listen for Mozart's skillful interplay between the oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, and piano, expertly balancing their unique timbres and capabilities in this quintet.

Evren Ozel


Demarre McGill


Juri Vallentin


Romie de Guise-Langlois


Peter Kolkay


Hugo Valverde

Presented at

Spa Little Theatre, Saratoga Performing Arts Center

19 Roosevelt Drive Saratog Springs, NY 12866